The Same But Different
The Catholic Church of the Americas (CCA) is one of many independent Catholic Churches in the United States and the world.  We are Catholic
because of our theology and polity.  We adhere to the seven sacraments and we enjoy tactile apostolic succession.  We are independent of Rome and
God in a manner consistent with dogma and tradition.  Though our similarity with the Roman Catholic Church is great, we also have some differences.
Baptism incorporates us into the Church, associates us with the Death and Resurrection of Christ unto new
life, effects a forgiveness of sins, and orients us to the worship of God and the wider mission of the Church.  
The CCA places Chrismation (Confirmation) with Baptism and the ordinary minister of both sacraments is the
The CCA teaches that all baptized Christians are worthy of receiving Holy Eucharist.  Other denominations refer to
this as an Open Communion Table.  Some denominations teach that one must be in the state of grace to receive
Communion, but we teach that Communion gives grace.  All of us, as sinners, need the grace of receiving the
Body and Blood of Christ.
The sacrament of Marriage is open to all mature, loving adults who want to solemnize their union in the eyes of God and
the Church.  Therefore, same-gender marriages are accepted in the CCA.  Couples who have had their marriages legally
dissolved through divorce can re-marry within the CCA – as is the case in the Episcopal, Orthodox, and other Catholic
(non-Roman) churches.  Divorce is not an obstacle to the reception of any of the sacraments (including the Eucharist).
Holy Orders
Christ died for all of us.  Gender, sexuality, or marital status has nothing to do with the reception of
any of the sacraments.  Therefore, women, married persons and sexual minorities can be ordained
as deacons, priests, or bishops within the CCA.
Episcopal, Lutheran, etc.).  The CCA does adhere to the doctrine of transubstantiation.  
Consistent with the teaching that God is neither male nor female, we strive to use language
that is inclusive and not gender specific.
Though the Catholic Church (CCA) maintains the value of auricular confession for individual guidance and a
desire of personal piety, the CCA believes that the community of faith gathered at the Holy Sacrifice of the
Mass are forgiven of their sins at the beginning of the Mass diring the Penitential Act when the priest say
"May Almighty God forgive you of your sins in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit"